CoinLedger combines exchange and wallet imports with crypto tax-lot calculations and downloadable tax reports.
Its basic Form 1099-DA workflow and missing-basis alert may help a straightforward US filer, but the buying decision turns on a narrower test: can you trace each remaining discrepancy to your own exchange, wallet, broker form, or acquisition record?
Start by compare crypto tax software by our published criteria, then inspect the records before paying for a report or human help.
What CoinLedger does and who should consider it
CoinLedger is a self-serve tax-report product. You connect transaction sources, let the software calculate lots, and use the resulting report for your tax filing work. The documented fit is strongest when your activity is mostly ordinary exchange trading and your source records are available.
A filer with several exchanges, hardware wallets, and a broker-issued Form 1099-DA needs more than an attractive report download. The useful question is not simply whether CoinLedger imports the account. It is whether the imported history explains the broker's proceeds, basis, and transaction details well enough for you to resolve an exception.
For a straightforward US filer, the product may be a reasonable first pass. For missing wallet history, duplicated uploads, staking income, or complex on-chain activity, plan on record cleanup outside the software. A paid human check is useful only if its scope matches the unresolved problem.
Pricing, transaction limits and what is free
The free level is for tracking and does not include a downloadable tax report. The entry paid report costs $49 for up to 100 transactions. CoinLedger's described vendor grid then lists $99 for 1,000 transactions, $199 or more for 3,000 or more, and $499 or more for 10,000 or more.
The grid is a one-time report purchase, not a promise that a human will prepare the return. It describes reports available for tax years 2010 through 2025. The 2025 tax year is the relevant Form 1099-DA reporting period for the 2026 filing season; that availability does not mean a 2026 report already exists.
| Offer | Cost | Transaction ceiling | Downloadable report | Purchase unit | Source/as-of | Evidence limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free tracking | $0 | Not stated | No | Tracking access | CoinLedger description, checked September 26, 2026 | Does not buy a tax report |
| Entry tax report | $49 | 100 | Yes | One tax report | CoinLedger pricing description, checked September 26, 2026 | Product price and ceiling are documented; mismatch depth remains separate |
| Higher report tier | $99 | 1,000 | Yes | One tax report | CoinLedger vendor grid, checked September 26, 2026 | Tier details are presented as the vendor grid |
| Higher report tier | $199+ | 3,000+ | Yes | One tax report | CoinLedger vendor grid, checked September 26, 2026 | Exact upper-limit treatment is not described here |
| Higher report tier | $499+ | 10,000+ | Yes | One tax report | CoinLedger vendor grid, checked September 26, 2026 | Exact upper-limit treatment is not described here |
| Expert Review | $499 | Not stated | Not stated | Attributed service claim | C2 research attribution, checked September 26, 2026 | Treat as an attributed price, not a confirmed current checkout price |
| Done For You | $300/hour or from $3,500 | Not stated | Not stated | Attributed service claim | C2 research attribution, checked September 26, 2026 | Scope and price require direct confirmation |
A separate independent grid lists $49, $99, $159, and $299. That is an outside pricing account, not the vendor grid above.
CoinLedger's official refund wording identified in the research describes a 14-day term, but the exact official page URL was not preserved in the source material, so treat the term as a dated scope claim rather than a reason to assume every purchase is refundable.
The price difference matters less than the report boundary. A $49 download can be useful when your records are already reconciled. It is a poor substitute for finding why one broker record has no basis.
Form 1099-DA: what CoinLedger actually does
CoinLedger has a basic Form 1099-DA import and reconciliation workflow. The described feature includes a missing-basis alert, which gives the filer a place to begin when the broker form and imported history do not line up. That is useful evidence of an intake and comparison workflow, not proof that the software identifies every mismatched transaction.
The unresolved point is granularity. Vendor language about an audit trail sits beside one independent account describing flags at the summary level. Those scoped descriptions do not establish a proven per-transaction result either way.
Before relying on the comparison, open the underlying records and identify the source of every exception.
The tax-year distinction matters. A 2025 Form 1099-DA belongs to the 2026 filing season. This review is dated in 2026, but that date is not a claim that a 2026 form or report has already been issued.
Annotated mismatch example
| 2025 broker form | Reader's acquisition evidence | Software alert | Form 8949 handoff |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sale record shows proceeds and a blank basis | Exchange trade history, wallet receipt, or other acquisition record shows when and how the asset was obtained | Missing-basis or reconciliation exception points to a difference requiring review | Reader uses the reconciled basis and transaction details in the report output, then checks the resulting Form 8949 |
| Broker account is the reporting source | Evidence must connect the sold asset to the reader's own lot history | Alert does not, by itself, prove which acquisition record is correct | The report is an output for filing work, not a human sign-off |
What does this example support? It supports a manual comparison between the blank-basis broker record and the reader's acquisition evidence. What has not been established is that the alert names the exact wallet transfer, trade, or lot responsible for the difference.
The next practical check is to compare the broker's asset, date, proceeds, and basis fields with the corresponding source record. For a fuller explanation of the form itself, check what the broker's Form 1099-DA reports. For a blank basis, check a missing cost basis.
From records to a filed return
CoinLedger's named lot methods are FIFO, LIFO, and HIFO. HIFO uses the highest-cost unit first and tends to minimize that period's reported gain relative to other lot choices. Specific identification is a separate method a filer may encounter, but it is not part of the named CoinLedger list described here.
Passively received crypto has two tax-record steps: ordinary income at its fair market value when received, which sets basis, followed by a separate gain or loss when the asset is disposed of. Lower tiers of software handling may leave one of those steps incomplete, so a staking or reward receipt should not be accepted merely because it imported successfully.
The six high-risk automated-categorization areas in the research are liquidity-pool deposits or withdrawals, wraps or unwraps, bridges, liquid-staking derivatives, airdrops, and yield-farming rewards.
A bridge is a useful warning example: identical activity can be treated as a transfer by one tool or as a disposal and reacquisition by another. The label needs a record-based review.
Use this preparation checklist before buying a higher tier or service:
- Connect every exchange and wallet that contributed to the broker-reported activity.
- Inspect internal transfers so a movement between your own accounts is not treated as a sale.
- Check CSV date ranges before uploading again. Manually re-uploading a file whose range overlaps an earlier upload can create duplicate records.
- Identify staking, airdrop, and other passive receipts, then check the receipt value and later disposal history.
- Inspect bridge, liquidity-pool, wrap, unwrap, liquid-staking, and yield-farming classifications.
- Compare the report's proceeds, basis, dates, and transaction descriptions with the Form 1099-DA.
An overlapping CSV test documented in the research produced a duplicated disposal after the same date range was uploaded again. That is a useful test-file warning, not a claim that every CoinLedger account will behave identically. Keep the original filename and date range beside each upload so you can remove the duplicate without guessing.
The output includes Form 8949 and Schedule D, described as IRS-ready tax forms. Report reconciled sales on Form 8949 for the filing mechanics, but do not confuse an exported form with a filed return. Software alone is not an authorized human preparer.
Where a full-filing add-on exists, a human completes the return.
CoinLedger's Expert Review is described as checking records that the customer imported. Done For You is described as more hands-on, with an attributed price of $300 per hour or from $3,500. Those service descriptions and prices need direct confirmation before purchase.
Neither description should be read as an automatic promise that a reviewer will find every DeFi classification issue or file the return unless the written engagement says so.
The choice path is straightforward:
| Your record position | Better next step |
|---|---|
| Imports are complete and the broker comparison has no unresolved exception | Review the report and filing handoff yourself |
| One or more mismatches remain, but you have the source records | Consider a documented Expert Review scope |
| Wallet history, DeFi classification, or income treatment is materially incomplete | Price a hands-on service or an independent licensed preparer |
| You need someone to complete and sign the return | Confirm the preparer's role separately from the software purchase |
What we could verify and what remains open
The active product evidence supports a paid report with a $49 entry price for 100 transactions and a basic Form 1099-DA import and missing-basis workflow. It does not establish a transaction-level audit of every mismatch. No registry check was established for the product, and the complex DeFi categories still require inspection against the underlying records.
A 2025 comparison using one identical dataset reported materially different results across five tax-accounting systems and an expert reference. That is category evidence: crypto tax software can produce different results from the same data. It does not attribute the finding to CoinLedger or prove a CoinLedger defect.
The source register identifies the IRS Form 1099-DA, Form 8949, and Schedule D instructions as the authority for the form and basis points, but the research record does not preserve the exact IRS document URL.
My verdict is conditional. CoinLedger makes sense when you can supply a clean transaction trail and want a calculated report with a documented missing-basis workflow. It makes less sense to pay first and investigate later.
The unresolved question is not whether a report can be downloaded; it is whether the report helps you explain the specific record that does not match.
Questions before you pay
Can I download a tax report on the free plan?
No. The free level provides tracking, while the described entry paid report costs $49 for up to 100 transactions. Pay for the report only after checking that your source history is complete enough to make its output useful.
Does the 1099-DA tool identify the exact mismatched transaction?
That depth remains open.
The documented feature includes basic import, reconciliation, and a missing-basis alert, while an independent account describes summary-level flags; neither establishes a proven transaction-level audit.
What does Expert Review cover?
Expert Review is attributed as a check of self-imported records. Confirm in writing which accounts, transaction types, mismatch explanations, and corrections are included before paying the attributed $499 price.
Does Done For You file my return?
Do not assume that it does.
The attributed Done For You description is more hands-on and is priced at $300 per hour or from $3,500, but the engagement must state whether a human completes the return and what filing responsibility is included.
Will an upgrade fix DeFi classifications?
No upgrade should be treated as an automatic cure. Bridges, liquidity pools, wraps, liquid-staking derivatives, airdrops, and yield-farming rewards still need a record check when the classification affects basis, income, or disposal.
Related checks and next steps
Start with one flagged record. Compare the Form 1099-DA entry with the downloadable report, the exchange or wallet history, and the acquisition evidence. Write down what remains unresolved before choosing a self-serve report, an attributed CoinLedger service, or an independent licensed preparer.
For broader evidence standards, read how we evaluate software evidence and fit.
For nearby workflows, see Koinly's documented 1099-DA mismatch causes, CoinTracker's named filing handoffs, and TurboTax filing after a calculated Form 8949.
The CoinLedger and CoinTracker workflow comparison and the CoinLedger and Koinly comparison cover direct product comparisons separately.
Compare the 1099-DA and the downloadable report against your own transaction trail. Choose a paid report or human help only after identifying the unresolved records.
Sources
- CoinLedger, software and pricing description, including the $49 entry report and 100-transaction ceiling: CoinLedger pricing description, checked September 26, 2026.
- CoinLedger official pricing and refund wording: official pages identified in the C2 research, checked September 26, 2026; the exact URL was not preserved in the research record.
- Independent C2 review account of summary-level flags and the separate $49, $99, $159, and $299 pricing grid: one-source research attribution, checked September 26, 2026; no source URL was preserved.
- IRS Form 1099-DA, Form 8949, and Schedule D instructions for the 2025 tax year: form and basis authority, checked September 26, 2026; the exact document URL was not preserved in the research record.

