Customers who sold crypto on Public during tax year 2025 should receive Form 1099-DA, according to Public's help page.
Public says its crypto-partner migration can result in up to two forms: one from Bakkt and one from Zerohash.
Its Tax Center lists February 17, 2026 as the availability date for both partner documents.
Start with both names rather than assuming a document from a partner is unrelated to your Public activity.
A 1099-DA reports information about certain digital-asset sales.
For a broader explanation of the form, see which exchanges issue Form 1099-DA and what a 1099-DA reports.
Does Public.com issue a 1099-DA for 2025?
Yes. Public's help page identifies Form 1099-DA for crypto sold on Public in tax year 2025. It also says basis reporting was not required for 2025.
The IRS's Publication 544, Information Returns section states the underlying 2025 rule: brokers must report gross proceeds, while basis reporting is voluntary.
That means the document may show the sale proceeds without supplying the cost basis you need for your own reconciliation. Public's 2025 crypto tax-form guidance places these statements in the context of crypto sold through Public.
The cited Public pages do not describe Public's form practice for 2026 sales. That silence is not a statement that no 2026 form will exist. Keep the 2025 Public statement separate from the later IRS reporting rule.
Where and when can I find Public's form?
On mobile, open the three-line menu, then go to Settings > Documents > Tax statements > Crypto. On the web, use Brokerage > Settings > Documents > Tax Statements. Public's Tax Center lists those document paths for its tax forms. (Public Tax Center)
Public lists the Bakkt and Zerohash Crypto 1099-DA documents as available on February 17, 2026. That is Public's availability date for the documents, not an IRS deadline. If you sold crypto in 2025 and see only one partner name, check the same document area again for the other name before treating the file as complete.
Why might Bakkt or Zerohash be named?
Public's crypto tax-form guidance says its partner migration can produce up to two 2025 forms, with one form from Bakkt and one from Zerohash.
The partner name can therefore differ from the Public name on the app you used. Two forms are possible; every customer does not necessarily receive two.
Public's cited pages do not assign a specific sale, wallet movement, or date range to Bakkt or Zerohash. Do not decide that a particular transaction belongs to one partner based only on the issuer name.
Which document am I looking for?
- You sold crypto through Public in 2025: Look in Public's Crypto tax-document area for a Form 1099-DA.
- The issuer is Bakkt: Keep the Bakkt form with your Public 2025 records and compare its sales with your transaction history.
- The issuer is Zerohash: Keep the Zerohash form as a separate Public-related document and perform the same comparison.
- You find no form: Check both the mobile and web document paths, then contact Public through in-app Chat or
[email protected]. - The activity was in a Crypto IRA: Public's cited tax pages do not state the IRA form. Do not use the taxable-account wording as an answer for retirement activity.
What do the forms report, and what may be missing?
For 2025, Form 1099-DA reports gross proceeds under the IRS rule above; Public says basis reporting was not required. Your sale records may therefore contain information that is absent from the form, especially for assets moved into Public from another location.
The IRS instructions use a separate 2026 rule. For sales after 2025, broker basis reporting on Form 1099-DA is required for covered digital assets acquired after 2025 in a custodial account and held there.
The IRS Instructions for Form 1099-DA also state that a digital asset transferred to the broker providing custodial services is noncovered, so its basis need not be reported. (current figure at IRS)
Public's cited pages do not describe how Public handles transferred-in assets for its own records or how its 2026 statements will display basis. Treat the IRS rule and Public's company-specific statements as separate sources.
Public's 2025 statement versus the IRS's 2026 rule
| Issue | 2025 Public statement | 2026 IRS rule | What remains Public-specific |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sale form | Public says crypto sales use Form 1099-DA. | The IRS instructions address Form 1099-DA reporting for covered and noncovered digital assets. | Public's 2025 form issuer is the relevant document source. |
| Possible issuer | Public names Bakkt and Zerohash after the partner migration. | The IRS rule does not identify Public's crypto partners. | Public does not state which sales appear on either partner's form. |
| Number of forms | Public says a customer may receive up to two forms. | The IRS instructions do not set Public's number of forms. | One form is possible; two forms, one from each partner, are also possible. |
| Availability | Public lists February 17, 2026 for its Bakkt and Zerohash documents. | The IRS instructions do not turn that date into a filing deadline. | Public's document timing and access path are company-specific. |
| Basis reporting | Public says 2025 basis reporting was not required; the IRS makes it voluntary. | For applicable 2026 reporting, covered digital-asset basis reporting is required; noncovered basis reporting is optional. | Public's 2026 statement practice is not described in the cited pages. |
| Transferred-in basis | Public's cited 2025 help page does not state its transfer treatment. | A digital asset transferred to the custodial broker is noncovered, so basis need not be reported. | Your transfer records remain necessary for reconciling the sale. |
Form-versus-record checklist
Use this as a reconciliation aid, not as a conclusion that a form is wrong:
- Select the 2025 tax year in your records.
- Record the issuer shown on each form: Bakkt, Zerohash, or both.
- Compare the sale dates and gross proceeds on each form with Public's transaction history.
- Mark assets transferred into Public and locate the original acquisition records for those assets.
- Note missing basis separately from a proceeds mismatch.
- If a discrepancy remains, write down the transaction date, asset, amount, issuer, and document location before contacting Public support.
Consider a hypothetical Public customer who downloads a Bakkt form and stops looking. If a Zerohash form is also present, the second document would stay outside the comparison (two files belong in the same reconciliation). Use check the broker form against your records to work through each document.
What about other Public accounts and forms?
The Public pages cited here do not specify a Form 1099-DA for a Public Crypto IRA or identify another crypto form for that account. The wording about crypto sold on Public does not answer how retirement-account activity is documented.
Keep taxable-account sales and Crypto IRA activity in separate folders. If the account type is unclear, ask Public through in-app Chat or [email protected], and take an irreconcilable retirement-account question to a licensed tax professional.
How do I ask about an error?
Public's Tax Center lists in-app Chat and [email protected] as support channels for tax-document questions.
Send the issuer name, the relevant transaction date, and a short description of the mismatch. Keep a copy of the form and your support message with the reconciliation.
Public's cited pages do not publish a correction sequence or a replacement date. Ask what record Public needs to review rather than relying on a correction timeline from another company.
What should I do before filing?
Use Public's statement as the starting point, not the entire record. Search the Tax Center for both a Bakkt and a Zerohash document, then compare each form with the sale history attached to your Public account.
Compare proceeds with the dated sales, and mark transferred-in assets separately. Public says 2025 basis reporting was not required, so use your acquisition records when basis is absent. The later IRS transfer rule does not establish Public's own 2025 transfer process.
A practical preparation sequence is:
- Download every 2025 Crypto tax statement in Public's mobile or web document area.
- Write each form's issuer at the top of your reconciliation file.
- Match the proceeds and dates to Public's transaction history.
- Trace transferred-in assets back to the records showing their acquisition.
- Contact Public about an unresolved document or transaction mismatch.
For a focused comparison, use check the broker form against your records.
If the missing information is basis, see covered versus noncovered assets and reconcile missing cost basis.
Questions about Public.com's form
Can I get two 1099-DA forms for one Public account?
Yes, Public says a customer may receive up to two 2025 forms after its partner migration, one from Bakkt and one from Zerohash. Check for both names; two forms are possible rather than guaranteed.
Why does my form say Bakkt or Zerohash instead of Public?
Public names Bakkt and Zerohash as its 2025 crypto form sources after the partner migration. The issuer name alone does not identify which specific Public sale appears on that form.
What if I only see one of the two forms?
A second form is possible, but Public does not say every customer receives both. Follow the documented mobile or web path, then ask Public through in-app Chat or [email protected] if the expected record is not present.
Does my Public Crypto IRA get a 1099-DA?
The cited Public pages do not state which form applies to a Public Crypto IRA. The 2025 taxable-sales statement does not answer the form treatment for retirement activity.
Is Public sending the same form for 2026 sales?
Public's cited pages do not describe its 2026 form practice. The IRS's 2026 basis rule is a separate reporting rule and does not establish what Public will send.
Related exchanges and guides
For the broader exchange list, start with which exchanges issue Form 1099-DA.
Two related issuer comparisons are Swan's Bakkt-custodied form and Webull's two possible issuers, but their documented facts do not determine Public's partner allocation.
The form-and-record workflow is also covered by what a 1099-DA reports, covered versus noncovered assets, and reconcile missing cost basis.
Locate every 2025 Public document bearing Bakkt or Zerohash, then compare each one with your sale records using the checklist or check the broker form against your records.
Sources
- Public.com Help Center, “What tax forms will I receive for crypto?”, 2025 form, partner issuers, and basis statement; retrieved September 29, 2026.
- Public.com Tax Center, “When will my tax documents be available?”, mobile and web access paths and February 17, 2026 availability entry; retrieved September 29, 2026.
- IRS, Instructions for Form 1099-DA, 2026 covered and noncovered basis reporting and transferred-in assets; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- IRS, Publication 544 (2025), Information Returns: Form 1099-DA, 2025 gross-proceeds requirement and voluntary basis reporting; retrieved September 30, 2026.



