Service review

Coinbase Review: Fees, US Access and Security

Compare Coinbase's documented fees, US and New York access, security incidents and reserve disclosures before choosing how to buy and hold crypto.

By the CoinReckon editorial desk · Published

Evidence snapshot: · Evidence updated 2026-09-26 · Methodology 1.3.

Documentary review. No deposit, trade, withdrawal or support test was performed for this page. Read the methodology.

Blank purchase records beside a ledger and a balance scale.
Editorial illustration

Choose your location to see its recorded access and ratings. GLOBAL covers the documented international route; it does not mean access in every country.

United States · Documentary assessment

Coinbase: recorded position

55.8/100

Caution Preliminary

Method coverage
58%
Evidence completeness
83%

A score reflects the recorded criteria and evidence limits. Preliminary ratings have incomplete evidence. How service ratings work.

Access and exclusions

Available in the recorded evidence · evidence dated .

Coinbase is a conditional fit for US exchange shoppers. Broad platform access and a wide company-level product range are practical strengths, while entry-level Advanced fees, a 2025 customer-data breach and the limits of its reserve reporting deserve a close look. This review uses evidence dated September 25-26, 2026, from an October 20, 2026 snapshot.

Who Coinbase suits

Coinbase suits readers who want a documented US access path and several crypto services under one account, provided they check the route and product available to them before relying on either. The supplied US record lists access in all 50 states with no excluded states in the evidence record 15. That is a meaningful convenience for a shopper comparing exchanges through CoinReckon's exchange hub.

The trade-off is cost and custody judgment. Advanced's entry-tier rates are a consideration for active traders, while simple buys use a different variable-fee and spread model. Readers who want company-level financial reporting may also view Coinbase differently from an exchange offering a customer-verifiable cryptographic reserve proof.

US availability and New York access

The US availability record lists Coinbase access in all 50 states as of September 25, 2026, with no excluded states in the supplied evidence record 15. That supports a broad platform-access conclusion, not a promise that every coin, staking service, derivative or card feature is available to every account.

New York has its own documented basis: Coinbase, Inc. has held a BitLicense since 2017 5. A New York resident can therefore treat platform access and product eligibility as separate checks. The BitLicense answers the jurisdictional access question; it does not establish a universal New York product list.

Coinbase fees: Advanced versus simple buys

The evidence record's September 26, 2026 entry-tier snapshot lists a 0.50% maker fee and a 0.90% taker fee for US Coinbase Advanced orders 126. A maker order adds liquidity by resting on the order book, while a taker order executes against an existing order. Your order role changes the documented base fee.

These percentages apply to the stated Advanced entry tier, not every Coinbase purchase. Advanced rates can vary with the account's applicable volume tier, and a retail simple buy uses a variable fee plus a spread in the quoted price 2. Compare the final displayed amount rather than carrying the Advanced percentage into the simple-buy screen.

Route Dated charge Excluded costs
Advanced maker 0.50% base fee Other volume tiers, spread considerations and withdrawal costs
Advanced taker 0.90% base fee Other volume tiers, spread considerations and withdrawal costs
Simple buy Variable fee plus spread The displayed quote is not priced by the Advanced maker or taker rate
BTC withdrawal Amount not specified in this evidence record Network conditions and any withdrawal charge shown at the time

The BTC withdrawal row should not be read as a free withdrawal. The supplied evidence does not state a fixed BTC amount, so a reader should inspect the transaction screen before approving the transfer. That is a different cost question from the trading fee.

Security, reserve reporting and the 2025 breach

Coinbase disclosed a customer-data breach on May 15, 2025. The affected information included personal details tied to about 69,461 customers, while the disclosure said passwords, private keys and crypto balances were not affected by the breach itself 6. Exposed personal information can still create a social-engineering risk, because a fraudster may use it to make a later message seem credible.

The compensation described in the disclosure was partial and voluntary for eligible losses caused by social engineering. It does not establish coverage for every person whose information was affected 6. That distinction matters before treating compensation as a protection available to all claimants.

Coinbase also has an enforcement history in New York. On January 4, 2023, the New York Department of Financial Services announced a $100 million settlement, consisting of a $50 million penalty and a $50 million compliance investment, over BSA/AML, transaction-monitoring and cybersecurity deficiencies 5. A BitLicense access basis and a settled enforcement matter are separate facts.

For reserves, Coinbase's documented approach is audited public-company financial reporting rather than a standard retail Merkle-tree or zk-proof proof-of-reserves report 162829. Audited reporting gives readers company-level financial information. It does not give an individual customer a downloadable cryptographic proof showing that a particular account balance appears in a reserve tree. The supplied evidence includes no separate PoR snapshot date.

Products, support and limits of this review

The company-level product flags cover spot trading, derivatives, staking, earn, a card and recurring buys 2122. Those flags show breadth, not automatic eligibility for every US state or account. The supplied evidence record does not give a US coin count or a New York coin count, so this review does not assign one.

Support channels are marked as 24/7 live chat and telephone 1011. Channel availability supplies no measured resolution time. CoinReckon also performed no deposit, trade, withdrawal or support experiment for this page, so the review does not turn those channels into a hands-on service result.

How to decide whether Coinbase fits

Use this checklist before opening or funding an account:

  • Residence and product fit: Check your state and the specific product you intend to use. New York access does not settle every product question.
  • Order route: Decide whether the purchase belongs in Advanced or the simple-buy flow.
  • Displayed total cost: Compare the final quote, fee and any withdrawal charge instead of using the 0.50% or 0.90% figure as an all-in estimate.
  • Custody preference: Decide whether audited company reporting is sufficient for your needs or whether you require individual reserve verification.
  • Support route: Save the available chat or telephone path before a transfer becomes urgent.

Coinbase is worth considering when broad documented US access and product breadth matter more than the lowest entry-tier trading cost. Fee-sensitive traders and readers who specifically require customer-level reserve proofs should weigh the stated limits before committing funds.

Quick questions

Does Coinbase work in New York?

Yes. The supplied record lists New York access on a BitLicense basis held by Coinbase, Inc. since 2017, while product restrictions remain separate 5.

Did the 2025 breach steal Coinbase passwords?

No. Coinbase's disclosure said passwords and private keys were unaffected, and the breach itself did not affect crypto balances 6.

Has CoinReckon tested a Coinbase withdrawal?

No. This review uses documentary evidence and includes no deposit, trade, withdrawal or support test.

If you are comparing a planned order route with your custody requirements, start with compare cryptocurrency exchanges. For the record-keeping follow-up, see Coinbase tax forms and records, then review how CoinReckon rates services. If a source or access detail changes, send an editorial correction.

Sources

This is general information, not personal investment, legal, or tax advice. Crypto can lose value.